The Bodyguard

Caught Akira Kurosawa’s Yojimbo (The Bodyguard) over the weekend and I enjoyed it immensely.

A masterless ronin (samurai) stumbles into a chaotic town ruled by gambling lords, brothel owners and other underworld characters. He plots to bring back the peace by offering his services as a bodyguard to the highest bidder and by encouraging the gangs to annihilate each other.

I liked the black humor and the scoring, which I thought was still hip – and this was shot in 1961. It was my first time to catch a Kurosawa film, and I’m looking forward to seeing more.

The film was in its original 35mm format – the Japanese are very fortunate to have preserved their old films. I wonder if the same could be said of our local classics? I hope so.

Leave a Reply

