Manila Central Post Office

Ah, handwritten letters. I remember the days back in grade school when I’d write my classmate Romina (who lives just a couple of subdivisions away) to tell her what I’ve been up to during the summer break. I awaited the arrival of the post man with eager anticipation.

Sadly, snail mail may eventually be a thing of the past. I do hope, however, authorities would maintain the beautiful Manila Central Post Office, fronting Liwasang Bonifacio/Plaza Lawton.

It’s the headquarters  of the Philippine Postal Corporation, where it conducts its main mail sorting and distribution operations.

Built in 1926, MCPO was designed by architect Juan Marcos de Guzman Arellano. It’s a fine example of neoclassical architecture, which I believe was popular at that time.

It’s like going back in time to what Manila once was.

2 thoughts on “Manila Central Post Office

Leave a Reply

